Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup – Revisited

I’ve been meaning to write something here for weeks, but obviously haven’t done it lately.  It’s not that there isn’t anything going on these days, it’s just a matter of time and motivation.

Anyway, Eric was sick a couple of weeks ago, and I am currently sick (though feeling much better than last week).  When Eric was sick I thought chicken noodle soup would be perfect.  So instead of making noodles the first day, I went and bought some at the store.  The “homemade” store-bought kind.  😀  Mainly I didn’t feel like making any and I didn’t know how to go about making gluten-free ones.

The next day I made some gluten-free egg noodles.  It was an interesting experience.  I was working with this homemade mix for the noodles:

2 cups brown rice flour,
2 cups white rice flour (I used sweet white rice since it’s all I have)
1 cup potato starch (the recipe called for cornstarch, but I switched it and it worked just fine)

Then if you remember THIS post (which you might not because a lot of time has passed since I wrote it), you’ll see the recipe I used to make Homemade Egg Noodles.

Anyway, I did make a couple of modifications to the recipe and here it is:

2 cups rice mix (from above),  3 egg yolks,  1 whole egg, 1 tsp salt,  1/2 tsp xanthan gum (this is added, would probably work without it, but I wanted to try it with),  1/3 to 1/2 cup water (I used more water than that until it stuck together).

I mixed the rice mix, salt and xanthan gum with a fork in a bowl just to get it blended together. Then made a well in the middle and put in 3 egg yolks and 1 whole egg and started mixing it and then added water by the Tbsp until I got the mixture to hold together. You don’t want it too sticky, but you do want it to hold together.

DSC_7224

I separated it into 4 equal parts and worked with one at a time.

I dusted the counter and top of the batter with potato starch and rolled it out. Cut it into the size strips I wanted with a pizza cutter. I don’t have a pasta cutter, so I don’t know how it would work in there.

DSC_7220 DSC_7222

I boiled it batch by batch for 10 minutes.

DSC_7211 copy

And this is the wonderfully, delicious finished product.

Everyone in the house loved it!  I love when a new recipe works out so well!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup – Revisited

  1. That looks delicious! Have you noticed a big difference in your health since you’ve been gluten free? I am considering it, but am not sure I have the dedication/motivation to do all the homemade stuff. I wish I could afford Whole Foods every week, but that is not in the budget.

    • I have been *trying* to be more wheat-free than gluten-free (it’s hard in a skeptical household). I have noticed quite a big difference in my digestive health. It is a hard thing to do, especially at first, but it is recommended going completely going off ALL wheat products. I have followed the wheatbellyblog and even bought the Wheat Belly book a while back. I still have to finish reading it, but it’s a good read so far. I’m sure it would be beneficial for you, even though it is a huge change to the way we all eat. It definitely takes more time to prepare foods, but it’s so worth it! Hope and pray you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

