School Days

This school year is just moving right along!  Today we finished week 7.  Woo Hoo! 🙂  I am excited about how fast school seems to be going.  I’m pretty sure it has to do with our new curriculum and how it keeps us going every day.  I love not feeling lost and actually having a direction we are going in.  The kids are learning a lot of new things this year.  I probably have said that so many times when I write about school.

Last week we finished up our Columbus Unit in our Paths of Exploration book.  It being the 6th week, we finished up some projects and enjoyed a field trip last Thursday.  We took a field trip to the Imagination Cruise that is put on by Jennings.  We met some other homeschool friends there and had a pretty nice time . . . until it started raining so hard that we had to stay in the boat.  It was so nice cruising along the Three Rivers of Pittsburgh on top of the Empress.  Just hanging out and chatting and taking in the sites.

  

My friends, Liz (who is also my running buddy) and Katie and their children were all there.

While we were on the Rivers, we saw where the replicas of the Nina and Pinta were parked.  Unfortunately we did not get the chance to see them while we were in town that day.  They left on the 3rd of this month.  So that is a bummer, but at least we got to see them as we rode by on our field trip!

Last week we also learned about the phases of the moon and I found this fun idea on Pinterest.  The kids had a fun time learning out the different phases of the moon and enjoyed the tasty snack while sculpting their Oreos just so.  It made for a nice activity!

This week we started our new unit on Jamestown!  It’s been a pretty good week, though today was not so good.  To be honest, I was just glad to finish the day and have the weekend off!  We did have a field trip again this week!  This time we went to the Pittsburgh Zoo!  It was a rather sudden field trip.  My sister in law asked me Wednesday if we wanted to go Thursday since the weather was to be wonderful (oh, and it was PERFECT)!  So we did!

I love taking pictures of everything the kids do and see.  Well, almost everything.  🙂  I had to be sort of selective yesterday since I realized my battery was almost dead and I had left my charged one at home!  Thankfully I made it the whole field trip and my battery didn’t die!  Anyway, the kids had a blast with their cousin and I had a nice day chatting with my sister-in-law.  We enjoyed all the sites the zoo had to offer.  I loved seeing the baby rhino!  So cute!  🙂  The sun was in and out of the clouds all day and it was a warm 75 degrees.  I got a tiny bit pink on my nose, but I didn’t mind at all!  I figured we all could use a dose of vitamin D before the long, cold winter sets in.

We are going to start using the S.O.A.P. Bible Study method daily.  I’ve been trying to figure out what to use and what to do for Bible Study time and this is such an easy method.  I recently purchased the kids some new study Bibles and am excited for them to put them to use.  It took me a long time to find just the  right ones for them.

That’s all for now!  I’ll write more as our school year moves along!

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

