Survived and a Few Other Things!

Yesterday was the blog radio show and you can find it archived HERE.  Let me say that I was terribly nervous and you can probably tell.  Yes, me, the talker was nervous talking.  Weird, huh?  It was a great experience though.

Hopefully NEXT week (September 7th, same time as yesterday’s show) I won’t be as nervous and can make some sense when I do talk! 🙂   The other young ladies did excellent!  I’m not sure if Caitlin has a blog, but Caroline does.

I found Caroline’s blog through Pinterest, before I met her by phone (I LOVE pinterest, let me tell you!).  Her site is called GUTSY.  She follows the GAPS diet.  Her site tells all about her journey to change her life and her health.

I started this on Saturday, Sept 1st.   It has been a wild week, especially since I’m only just getting back to this post!

Tomorrow (Friday, September 7th) at 12:30pm will be another Blog Radio Show continuing with the topic of “What Are We Feeding Our Children?”  <—–click on those words and you’ll go the site.  Judy is a wonderful host and a very sweet lady!  I’m more excited about this week’s show and less nervous, even though I feel less prepared for this week’s show. 🙂

I am by no means an expert in this area (quite new to this actually), but I am a mom and a wife that wants to feed her family better foods and live a healthier life.  This journey is an interesting one.  You try to learn all you can and not be overwhelmed.  It is about taking small steps to healthier eating and living.  You can’t change everything overnight, but you can make little changes.

One of the first things I did was start to make my own laundry soap.  I did this to save money more than anything.  I also take small steps to try learning to be more self-sufficient.  It’s neat to be able to make things you can use here in the home.  There are many recipes for all kinds of things!  I’ve started making deodorant (for myself), toothpaste, lip balm, foaming hand soap, oil cleansing method (for cleaning my own face), and a whole list of other projects that I want to try!

Food is something I have been trying to improve on recently.  I make a lot of homemade meals and snacks, but I know I can do better.  My children are more resistant to changes, but I think fazing out some of the other foods and replacing them with tasty, homemade foods will be better for them.  Eric and I have not been eating wheat for over a month now.  We started as a way to lose weight, but I really like how I feel not eating it.  Eric likes losing weight without having to exercise. 🙂   I’ve been reading the Wheat Belly Blog and it sure does paint a different picture about wheat and its role in our lives (or rather how much better off we are without it).  It has been fun experimenting with other types of “flour” and just eating more vegetables and fruit.  I also have to say that I haven’t read the Wheat Belly book by Dr. William Davis, but I should some day soon!

These are just some of the small changes we’ve been making in our lives in recent weeks and months.

One thought on “Survived and a Few Other Things!

  1. Pingback: Food Blogs | Strobel's Happenings

Leave a Reply

