Recent Happenings

Have you ever had about 5,000 things you want to write about, and because you don’t know where to begin you just don’t do it?  That’s what has been going on with me lately.  I’m not quite sure where to start.

Life has been full lately.  Very full!

Our official last day of school was May 23rd.  We (especially myself) are SOOO glad to be finished!  Technically the kids still have some work in some books they have and will finish them over the summer.  We’ll save those for really rainy days or really really hot days.  Next is getting their portfolios put together and having their evaluations next Tuesday.  I need to get on that soon!

Last Saturday was the start to a very busy, but wonderful weekend!  We’ve had blueberry bushes for YEARS, but nothing has ever grown on them.  They are only just getting big enough really.  Maybe next year.  They are not pictured today.  However, last Saturday we went to a local farm and bought 4 blueberry bushes and 2 of them already have blueberries on them!  I am SO excited! 🙂 

They are now covered with mosquito net and it keeps the chickens and other birds from eating them.

The only bad thing is the chickens like eating the organic acid balancer stuff we put around the plants.  Silly chickens!  They don’t seem bothered by it and it’s hard to keep them out of it.
Before we planted the blueberry bushes we went out and did some running around to some local home stores looking for things we might need for some projects at home.  We didn’t get much, but we did enjoy some ice cream on the way home! 
Sunday we decided to go north to Lake Erie.  It was very hot when we left our house that day.  It stayed hot and sunny for quite a while, but the more north we went the clouds got thicker and darker.

 We continued on our journey anyway and thought we might drive out of the storms, but we did not.  It was a little sad at first, but Eric got the idea of going to Splash Lagoon.  Let me tell you, I enjoyed Splash Lagoon way more than I would have enjoyed the lake.  I just always cringe at swimming in the dirty water with all those fishy creatures.  My favorite part of Splash Lagoon is the Wave Pool.  I laughed hysterically like a kid getting pushed around by the waves.  So much fun!  Being that we swam and enjoyed the water slides I didn’t get any pictures.  I was worried about taking my camera in there.  It was hot and humid and the locker wouldn’t have had room for my camera anyway. 🙂

 While riding north we always pass this place and it always reminds me of the Dead Marshes from the Lord of the Rings movies.  I actually got a pretty good picture of them on Sunday!

On Monday, Memorial Day, we went to our town’s parade.  We always enjoy going!  Love watching the Veterans that sacrificed for our country, fire trucks, old cars, tractors, and the kids scrambling for candy that is thrown all over the place!

Grace’s candy pile and t-shirt.
Other highlights from this week . . .
Tuesday my brother and kiddos stopped by to get some eggs.  It was so nice to see him and talk to him for a while!  We’re both quite busy and don’t get to talk much.  In the afternoon I helped Rose spring clean the last 2 rooms of her house.  We have been working on 2 rooms each week.  I’m sure she appreciates it and she always gets right in on the cleaning!  🙂  I also went for a 1 mile run that day. 
Wednesday was busy, but I can’t remember why. .  . 🙂  Oh wait . . . I got a haircut!  My hair is like a straw factory.  I’m still letting my hair grow out to its natural gray color.  It’s always amazing how SLOW it seems to grow now that I’m not coloring it.  While keeping it blond it always seemed to grow SO fast and was hard to keep up with it. 
Thursday I ran 2 miles in the morning, finished my menu/grocery list, and then went shopping in the afternoon.  It was a very busy day! Took a long time to get everything cleaned up and put away.
Friday, that’s today! It wasn’t that today was really busy.  I went to a friend’s house.  She asked if I could feed her ducks while her family is away on vacation, so she was showing me where to feed them and all that.  Ducks are so cute how they waddle around. If we had a pond or something here I would get a couple.
Before she showed me around we had the most amazing conversation!   She is a woman that loves the Lord and has such a heart for others.  We talked and prayed and I cried my eyes out.   I just love her and am so thankful God brought our paths together. 
Sometimes when someone talks, you just can feel the Lord speaking to you through them.  It happens from time to time – at least it has for me.  That’s how it was today.   We talked of some personal matters that are near to our hearts and how God already knows the outcome to these situations.  She shared an incredible story of how God has moved in her heart and life and how He’s brought healing to her hurt heart.  I have much to think about and pray about and open my heart to God and His Word. 
You can read the Word and pray thoughtlessly.  I’ve done it SO many times.  It’s shameful and sad.  God just wants to talk to me and to listen to me and I’m pretty sure He wants me to just be still and know that He is God.  He has so much work to do in my heart. 
On another Bible topic, my friend Cindy and I FINISHED memorizing and reciting the book of Colossians today!  We’re looking forward to starting James in a month or two here!  I LOVE the book of James, and she and I are both drawn to this book, so it’ll be great to memorize with someone!  Over the summer I’ll be learning verses with my kids (at least that’s the plan) .  I downloaded them from Seeds Family Worship.  That site is full of wonderful things! 
God bless you all that have stuck with this crazy, long post! 🙂
Love,
Emily
PS.  I have to end this by mentioning that I FINALLY bought a new lens for my camera!  I’m super excited and can hardly wait until my 55-300mm lens gets here!  Yay!

2 thoughts on “Recent Happenings

  1. Yum! We love blueberries. We have never tried to grow our own though. You'll have to keep me posted on how the new bushes produce and what kind you bought.

    Love all of your photos! You are so talented and capture the moments perfectly.

    It certainly looks like you've been busy!

    Love the new look!

Leave a Reply

