Healthier Things

 I’ve been learning about these funky little things.
They are called Kefir Grains.
You can learn more about kefir HERE and HERE.
This is into my second week of growing it from those grains.
I bought them off amazon.com.
Since we’re using raw milk these days, I grow them in there.
I’m hoping to see the health benefits from using this stuff.
It’s great for the balancing the intestinal tract with live probiotics.
 This is my jar of kefir so far.
There are many things you can do with the stuff.
I’m looking forward to making it into smoothies or pancakes.
It has an interesting yeasty type taste and smell.
Don’t think I could just drink it like some people do though.
I’ve also been trying more natural sweeteners (not pictured is honey).
Agave is ok and I like the Sucanat.  Stevia must be an acquired taste
and I haven’t acquired that taste, yet.  It does ok in our
homemade toothpaste/soap stuff though.
That recipe is found HERE.
My kids LOVE using that toothsoap on their teeth and
I’m glad!  I feel so much better with a few changes we’ve been
slowly making around here.
We still have a long way to go, but I figure something is better than
nothing.  This is thanks to my mother-in-law, who handed me the book
The Maker’s Diet that Easter Sunday. 🙂
Sometimes you just never know what reading something
will do to your life.  What God will use to change your thinking.
While we haven’t done the diet part of that book,
there are many changes we can make to our lives that will
benefit our health in the long run.
4 thoughts on “Healthier Things

  1. Wow. You are introducing me to all kinds of new things! I love the natural approach. I truly believe that a lot of our health issues are caused from ingredients used in modern day, convenience foods. Are all of these recipes from that cookbook you posted about?

  2. I am not sure about the Kefir stuff… but hey I love natural things so good luck with that!

    Love all the natural things you are doing. I was into it big time before but got away from things lately. My focus has to be on it and right now life has gotten complicated. But Keep blogging cause I love reading your journey. And will know who to be my go to girl when I get back in the swing. For now the extent of my naturalness is my feminine product routine. I haven't found natural laundry soap stuff since I got my HE washer cause I scares me to mess it or something.

  3. I'm not sure about the kefir either, but using it in pancakes isn't so bad. I have to try it with a smoothie and see how that goes. 🙂

    Yeah, I can totally understand how your life has gotten crazy, Linda! When you have time to get back to it I'm here for ya! 🙂 I'd be afraid using homemade laundry soap with the HE washer, too. I'll have to look around on the 'net and see what I can find about that. Last year I changed my feminine product routine. I'm sure it could be more natural, but I haven't figured out how just yet. lol

    Robin, I sent you a message on facebook just in case you didn't know that! 🙂

    Kristal, I saw some yummy looking Kefir online. I'm sure it tastes better than the stuff I'm growing, lol. Mine kinda tastes like yeasty plain yogurt. Delish sounding, yes? lol

Leave a Reply

