An Apology . . . Sort of

I want to apologize for my blog being so boring lately.
Oh so boring.
I’m surprised I still have readers!
God bless you all that do still read or at least look at this page sometimes.
Life is good and busy and my time of sitting and writing
something meaningful is not happening much at all.
For that I am sorry.

 I’ve been busy cooking and trying new things.
Of course, who isn’t? 🙂
The above pictures are from my lunch the other day.
Quinoa with sauteed mushrooms, onions, and spinach.
No one else would eat it with me, but more for me to enjoy I guess.
 My daughter is bringing me beautiful wildflowers.
I’m not sure what the white one is, but it is really pretty!
I have been taking pictures of the ones she brings me.
They do die off pretty fast.
 Grace and I took a walk the other evening and I just
love all the yellow, green, and dandelion puffs.
 These are Overnight, No-Cook Refrigerator Oatmeal that
I tried making the other night.  We had them yesterday for
breakfast.  Not really so wonderful, but ok.
Our favorite was the one in the pink bowl – peanut butter and banana.
The yellow one was applesauce and green one was blueberry maple.
You can find the recipes on THIS page.
While these are ok, I definitey prefer my oatmeal cooked and hot.
But I wouldn’t have known it if I didn’t try, right? 🙂

 The above 4 pictures are what I made for dinner last night.
This is Steakhouse Pizza from my Pioneer Woman Cookbook.
(and is at her web page)
While I loved it, the husband wasn’t overly thrilled.
He wasn’t excited about the whole wheat pizza crust.
I love it because it has flavor, but it’s just not his thing.
He doesn’t like the flavor and texture of it.
Oh well, more for me?
Pearl was out in the garden this morning eating worms.
She follows Eric around because he helps dig up some buggies for her.
She has trouble scratching since she’s missing most of her toenails.
Eric let the chickens into the garden since he plowed it yesterday.
We had dumped the”barrel of doom” on the garden last Monday
and we had some really heavy rains on Friday night.
The rains really helped with the nasty smells and
Eric plowed it under yesterday.
Did I mention I love him? 🙂 He’s wonderful!
IN OTHER NEWS:
We will finish school on May 23rd officially.
We ended up having to make up a lot of sick days from
the late winter into spring. 
The kids are mostly done with their school work that I
do have for them.
I’m going to get something new for next year.
It just feels like we’re missing so much, so I have been doing some
researching and think I have found a good fit for us with
Paths of Exploration.  There is a middle school
expansion that I’ll get for Nathan.  We’ll continue using
Math U See and Spell to Write and Read (at least for Ryan
and Grace).  I’m excited about doing something new and have
read so many good reviews on this curriculum!
I love that we’ll be able to go through it together, but
they’ll have different work pages for their age/grade levels.
I know Paths of Exploration has art, but I got Drawing with Children that
I want to do along with the kids.  It would be fun to learn how to draw
and will give us some good times over the summer – I’m hoping!
We’ll have to put together portfolios and get evalutaions
and then turn it all in to the school district before the end of June.
Probably my least favorite time of year is
 just dealing with the paper work and all that. 
Running . . . it is happening again.
I didn’t run for almost 3 weeks after we had the stomach
flu.  It was just busy and I didn’t have the time or
energy.  Finally, after dragging my feet, I started again.
Yesterday I ran an 8 min 08 sec mile.
This is an exciting accomplisment for me!
I ran one mile straight! Woo Hoo!
Eric is doing ok, too.
Last Monday he had to get an endoscopy done, but
it didn’t reveal anything.  We can’t figure out the heavy feeling
he has in his chest.  The doctor did get a biopsy from his
small intestine to see if he has celiac disease.  We haven’t heard those
results at this point in time.  He doesn’t have any damage
from heartburn that he gets, but the doctor gave him meds
for the heartburn.  We’re not sure that they’re even helping  anything.
God is very good to us and I am so blessed and grateful for all that He has given me.  Eric still has a job, Grace is feeling better,
Ryan is slowly improving in his reading, Nathan is healthy and
doing well.  There are SO many other blessings God has seen
fit to give us. 
Thanks for reading!
Love,
Emily
6 thoughts on “An Apology . . . Sort of

  1. I like the every day look of your life. Reminds me that I'm not alone in the day to day stuff.

    I agree about the overnight oatmeal. While I liked the chocolate one, I do like my oatmeal hot.

    Sorry they haven't figured out your husband's pressure yet. Praying it goes away!

  2. Glad you like the every day look at us! 🙂

    Thanks for praying for Eric! It's frustrating not knowing what his problem is and that it is uncomfortable for him – sometimes worse than others. *sigh*

  3. The white flower is a Trillium (one of my favorites!). I think you food looks like some fun experiments but I think I would like my oatmeal best hot and cooked too.

  4. Quinoa, mushrooms, onions and spinach! That looks and sounds pretty yummy to me. I think I'll give it a try. My hubby won't like it, but I'm pretty sure I will 🙂

    Blessings,
    Red

  5. Abbi, thanks for the flower knowledge! I am pretty ignorant when it comes to most of them! 🙂 It is beautiful!

    Red, yes so delicious! My husband is not a fan of quinoa, but I totally loved the stuff I made the other day! This morning I had quinoa with a scrambled egg in it! Also good! 🙂

  6. I'm so glad to hear Grace is feeling better. Have they checked Eric for acidic blood? I had never heard of it before they told me I had it. It's glorified heartburn with a few other symptoms. Does it worsen when he lies down? Mine did, but of course, I have other issues, too.

    The meals look wonderful. I had never had Quinoa. I will have to investigate that. 🙂

    Great job on the running! Way to make set a goal and achieve it! (Insert clapping hands)

    I am excited to do POE neext year, too. I'm hoping it will be easier and that I will be Ble to combine the girls in most subjects.

Leave a Reply

