A Prayer Request And Something to Consider

This is from my wonderful sister/friend Lori and her husband David (as copied from facebook with permission):  


URGENT PLEASE READ

As many of you know Lori and I are in the process of adopting twin girls (Joy and Faith) from Good Samaritan Children’s Home in Malawi. Also Lori’s sister, Becky has been working and teaching English at the orphanage for the past six months. While there are many struggles the children have from not being able to wash their hair, or having to wear braids so tight it makes them cry, (Becky knows this from experience too) having their hair fall out from being so brittle and dry, not having the right size clothes, not having enough fuel to go to town for school or the constant fear of getting sick and dying. While all of this is just a normal way of life my heart was truly broken during a phone conversation with Becky today. She informed me that Joy has begun to lose some weight due to a shortage of food at the orphanage. Due to monthly shortages of about $3,000.00 they have not been able to purchase fish, eggs, or milk for almost two weeks. The children are feed beans and corn meal three times a day for the past two weeks. Becky has already given $200.00 of her own money to help buy fish. That $200 bought enough fish for nine meals for the entire orphanage. The Lord has laid it on my heart to raise $10,000 so the orphanage can buy fish, eggs, and milk for the all the children in the orphanage. It is also my desire to raise $3,000 in monthly support for the orphanage. Lori and I have already given $1,000 toward the $10,000 goal. In addition we are committing $100 month to support the orphanage. I am personally asking all of my family, friends, and strangers to please pray and ask God what He would have you do to support this worthy cause. If you are able to make a onetime donation or would like to support on a monthly donation of $25, $50, $100 or more the children would be grateful. If you would like to help please make check payable to: 

Emmorton Baptist Church
c/o Good Samaritan Children’s Home
106 Plumtree Rd
Bel Air, MD 21015


If you would like to help please make a pledge so we can follow it and countdown to our goal of $10,000. Thank you in advance for your support.

David and Lori Serenda

One thought on “A Prayer Request And Something to Consider

  1. Emily,

    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and for your kind and thoughtful words. I appreciate your prayers and cannot express how much your kindness means to me. I know God being right beside me through this was the only way I was able to get through it. I will keep your family as well as your sister and her family in my prayers.

    Hugs,
    ~Angela

Leave a Reply

