What is Our Homeschool Philosophy??

That is a good question and I’m trying to decide exactly what it is today.

I’ve been reading this site Home School Curriculum Advisor.  You’d think after all these years of homeschooling that we’d have a philosophy written down or something.  I mean, I think I have one floating around in the space inside my head, but have never tried it out on paper or on this blog.  Up until this past school year, we were

It’s something I have been thinking a lot about lately anyway.  So today I was reading HERE about different homeschool philosophies and trying to decide where we are and we are kind of a mix of a few of them.

Our main goal is the kid’s walk with God and knowing God’s Word and learning what we can from it.  It’s important to me that they have a good foundation in life and that foundation is the Word of God.  God’s Word is the Truth and it’s important that they hunger for the Truth and knowledge that is from God.  There are many great resources out there to use in conjunction with the Bible, that help break it down so that they can understand it better.  I’m thankful for the free use of many of these resources!

My husband and I decided last year that the main 3 subjects that are most important are Math, Grammar and Reading/Spelling.  All the rest are fun extras.

We are using Math U See and it’s a mastery based program that we really do enjoy and that has even helped me learn while the kids are learning.  Math was never my strong subject, but I’m glad to have this program for our children to use!

Grammar . . . I’m still struggling as to what the best program is out there.  We are currently using Easy Grammar.  While I find it easy and understandable, my boys really seem to struggle at times.  Not sure how much is attitude based because “blah English” or if it truly is hard for them to grasp.  I’m considering getting a Daily Grams book and using that in the coming school year as a helper.  (textbook stuff)

We’re continuing with Spell to Write and Read because I LOVE it and because it’s such a good program!  We’re still having some struggles with a couple kids, but I’m working on how I’m teaching it and how it’s being used.  I’ve had some great helps from some of the certified trainers and am so thankful for their input and suggestions! (this is a Classical curriculum)

In the coming school year for history, we’re going to be doing The Founding of the United States Experience 1765-1815.  I’m working on making it into a Unit Study for a few months.  It’s a book I picked up at Ollie’s for about $15 that has all kinds of neat reprints of our Nation’s founding documents and the history surrounding them.  I’m attempting to make my own unit study out of it, so that is my major project for the summer.

Science we’ll be doing more of a Charlotte Mason method.  I recently purchased Handbook of Nature Study  and since we live in the woods and have nature all around us this seemed the better course for us in the coming school year.  I’m looking forward to the change.  The lessons are all laid out and it will be fun!

I’ve been reading up on the Charlotte Mason Method on Practical Pages and am interested in reading and having the kids re-telling or writing what they just learned from the story.  I’ll be looking further into this before the new school year starts in August.

We’re going to start our Bible study for the new school year doing Character Studies from Homeschoolhelperonline.com and whatever else I think the kids will be needing in their Bible studies.  I’m still working on other Bible ideas.  We’ll start up our gratitude journals in August as well, but for the summer we are doing 7 Gifts Good & Perfect (scroll down the page for Related Resources and you’ll see you can download the PDF file) from Ann Voskamp’s site A Holy Experience.  I love her Christ-centered focus.  She and her writings are an inspiration and also a conviction for me.  My walk has become slack lately and I must get the focus back on Him.

Music and Art we’ll do again in the coming school year on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  A friend of mine is a music teacher and she suggested using flutophones to help the kids understand notes better, so I’ll be ordering a few of them and some music books to go along with them.  They are from Musiciselementary.com.  They have great prices and a lot of other interesting musical instruments, etc.  As far as art goes, we’ll just try different things through the year again and see how it goes.

 We are a little of this and a little of that homeschoolers.  Mostly eclectic, a tiny classical, a little Charlotte Mason (or will be).  Mainly we want to do all to the glory of God.

One thought on “What is Our Homeschool Philosophy??

Leave a Reply

