Homemade Mayonnaise – Updated

This was my third attempt at making homemade mayonnaise.  The first time was totally runny.  Tried mixing it in a bowl with my hand mixer, then put it in a blender.  Soupy mess!  Yuck!

The 2nd time I made it, it was a bit better.  I realized that I added too much lemon juice to it.  I started hand whisking it, but it just was exhausting to my puny little arm, so I went to my electric whisk (an attachment for my hand mixer).

This is what I did this time – the 3rd time! 🙂

2 room temperature egg yolks
1 Tbsp vinegar (or just a touch more because it flooded over my tablespoon a little)
1/2 to 3/4 tsp salt
A little over 1 cup canola oil, though I’m sure you can use whatever oil you choose.

I mixed the egg yolks, vinegar and salt in a mixing bowl with my electric whisk.  Then I slowly started adding a little oil and made sure it is mixing well (it starts getting a little fluffy).  Then just add a little at a time and keep whisking it until all the oil has been added. In the end you’ll have a fluffy, homemade mayonnaise and it tastes great!

The key is to add the oil slowly, especially at first, and it should turn out fine.

**Update**

December 9, 2012:

I’ve also started adding 1-2 tsp Dijon Mustard and switching different oils.  I’ve been using saffron oil right now and have also added olive oil (it does change the flavor some).  Also used Bragg’s Cider Vinegar in place of white vinegar.   Turned out great!

Leave a Reply

