Homeschooling Woes . . .

This week the boys had CAT tests.  Ugh!  I don’t know why my oldest has to be so stubborn, but he just is sometimes.  It was decided that he will have to earn the privilege to play his nintendo dsi or any video game console, but he has to show major attitude improvements and desire to work with a better attitude.  Parenting can be so hard, but his walk with God and his schooling are the most important things right now.

Then there’s Ryan.  The boys knows how to do things, but he struggles with reading.  A friend is going to refer me to someone so I can have him tested.  I’ve been toying with the idea of going to the school district to see what they have to offer, but changed my mind on that one.

We changed spelling programs this year, mostly for his benefit.  I don’t know if it’s just too confusing for him or what.   I’m really at a loss and have been talking with my husband about what direction to take.  He definitely needs something, reading is one of the most important things and we just can’t seem to get the connection with Ryan.  I’m praying someone out there has ideas for us!

It’s realizing there is a major problem and needing to do something about it.  I’ve known about his struggles for a couple years now, but my trying to fix things hasn’t really done much and time is getting away from us, so it’s time to look elsewhere.  I’d appreciate prayers in this area – for both Ryan and myself!

Grace is doing well and just needs to be pushed a little more when it comes to reading.  She is doing great in math, but needs to practice reading more often.  She’ll do fine if I can get her over her crying spells.   She is such a girl like that!

Let’s just say that I am glad tomorrow is the last school day this week and we have a 3 day weekend.  I need some time to re-evaluate and plan some things.

I feel like I’ve failed my son and it’s such a heavy weight. . .

2 thoughts on “Homeschooling Woes . . .

  1. I'm sorry, Emily. I will keep you in my prayers. At times, the pressure can seem unbearable and unfortunately, we blame ourselves. You KNOW I've been there. Hang in there. You are doing a great job!

Leave a Reply

