The Passion of the Christ

Last evening we were sitting down and ended up watching The Passion of the Christ.  It was then that I realized where my Bible teaching has fallen way short.  My children know of Christ’s death on the cross and that He died for our sins, but they don’t really know the Biblical account of the week leading up to the cross.  We are going to remedy that this week.  I’ll be reading from the 4 Gospels so they can see/hear it from God’s Word.  Not story books, nothing like that.

Now I do not agree with everything in this movie, but I thought it was a really good depiction of the Biblical account of Christ’s Crucifixion.  It put an image, in my mind, of the beatings Christ suffered and what He went through for my sins that day.  He did it because He wanted to and it is something that I’ve known, but haven’t sat and really considered.

Thankfully it didn’t stop with the beatings and with His death on the cross!  Three days later, Jesus rose from the dead  – just as He said He would do!

Bible Study Planet has a great breakdown of the Biblical events of the Passion Week.
Blessings!

2 thoughts on “The Passion of the Christ

  1. I have not see the Passion as of yet. I know I have fallen short in my bible teachings with my children. When my daughter thought that Easter was when we were celebrating his birth. (me shaking my head) Until I set her straight, then she said she forgot.

  2. I do recommend watching it. Not sure if you are ok with your daughter seeing the violence done to Christ in the movie (it is graphic), but my kids watched it.

    It is very good and kind of woke me up to what Christ's suffering may have been like. I mean you know it was bad, but seeing it like that just really got me thinking about the whole week before His death and Resurrection.

Leave a Reply

