Thinking of the Coming School Year

We need to focus more on writing in the coming school year.  My boys are very poor at it and I don’t like that at all.  I’ve had to delete this paragraph, I had my Wanda’s confused! lol  Wanda Sanseri wrote the Spell to Write and Read curriculum – which we love.  Wanda Phillips wrote Easy Grammar and the previously mentioned Easy Writing.  Now that I think about it, I’m not so sure about the Easy Writing.  I will continue searching, but we’ll definitely be using a writing curriculum of some sort for next school year!

My friend, Leah, is a music teacher.  She remarked that she was excited about my incorporating music into our homeschooling and gave me some wonderful ideas and a great WEBSITE that has reasonably priced instruments and music books.  The music book we’ve been doing is very basic (1st grade) music theory.  My children don’t seem to be musically inclined or at least show no desire at this point in time.  Ryan does say about playing the piano from time to time, but I don’t know for sure with him yet.  I do have a flute I can teach the basics should any of them be interested in that.  I also have a guitar, which I would love to learn to play well, and that could be fun, too.  I want them to do what they are interested in – I had been forced to learn piano at about 8 years old and it did not go well.  I didn’t learn much and didn’t practice as I should.  Now I had always wanted to learn flute and when I was 14 I finally got to learn to play and LOVED it!  I practiced A LOT because I really wanted to learn it.    We’ll see where their interests lead them. 🙂

Yesterday we cut school a little short because one of our chicken eggs hatched!  Eisenhower has been sitting on eggs since March 14th.  Some are due to hatch today and tomorrow.  Should be interesting to see how many more hatch.  If I could tell by candling I would say that we have 2 more that will hatch and I’m not sure about the other 2.  We’ll be in and out of the coop all day today to see what we can see.  I took a picture of the chick yesterday.  I definitely need to take my camera out today.  The peep gets out and waddles around for a bit, until it’s mama makes her go back underneath.  So that has been our exciting Science so far this week! 🙂

Those are just some thoughts  . . .  🙂

2 thoughts on “Thinking of the Coming School Year

  1. fyi – SWR is wanda sunseri (wanda phillips is different). don't want that to be your only reason for getting the easy writing. you say you sue easy grammar, though? if he likes that, then he'll probably like the phillips writing curriculum (of which i have no experience!). we are introducing writing into our core next year – Writing with Ease by Susan Wise Bauer (we already use her mom's Grammar introduction curriculum). Also, I've heard GREAT things about Institute for Excellence in Writing.
    Happy chick-grandma-ing! 🙂

  2. oh thanks! LOL I'll fix that. Yes, Wanda Phillips is Easy Grammar. LOL Thanks for pointing that out! 🙂 I get my Wanda's confused, obviously.

    I've heard great things about I.E.W. too. A friend of mine has it, maybe I can borrow it to see what it's like. . .

    Yes, Easy Grammar is not so loved . . . since I don't want to waste the books, we'll finish them, then I'll look for something else. We're definitely using them for 2 years. Very repetitive and the boys aren't that excited by it. Not that Grammar is fun, but they should at least not hate it so much.

    The chicks are so cute! 🙂 I kinda do feel like their grandma since I fed and watered their mama for 3 weeks. How are the sheep?

Leave a Reply

