The Mountains Bow Down by Sibella Giorello (my booksneeze book review)

  I LOVE a good mystery and this book delivered on that!  It was quite an exciting mystery with a little bit of romance and a few references to God here and there.

Lately I’ve become such a book critic.  I think I am looking at books with my daughter in mind.  She is currently 7, so it’ll be a while before she reads these, BUT I do not think I would let my teenage daughter read this book.

The story is about an engaged FBI agent (her name is Raleigh) that went a on cruise with her mother, aunt and some other older citizens, as well as a movie star.  The movie star was consulting with the FBI agent since he was starring in a movie as an agent.  The mystery swirls around the death of the movie star’s wife.  Who was the murderer? Was is the movie star?  Was it the movie producer?  Was it someone else?  That’s the fun part of reading mysteries – trying to figure out who the murderer is before I finish the book.  I totally didn’t figure this one out before the big reveal!

Raleigh needed a little back-up during this cruise, so in comes Jack.  They previously had a relationship, but since I’ve not read any other books in this series, I don’t know the extent of it but it seems it could have been serious.   They bantered well, back and forth.  You can just tell they are meant for each other.  The finance does complicate things, but the cruise seems to have been a good time of soul searching for Raleigh.

My critical analysis:  The part of the book I didn’t think needed to even be in there was the Alaskan Coroner describing a teenage boy dying from asphyxiation during masturbation with a rope or cord around the neck.  I just think that was way too graphic (I am sorry for the graphic nature of this, but you can see why I’m disturbed by it).  I know it does occur in real life – we hear about it on the news, but in a Christian book, I don’t think it belonged.

There were a few vague references to God.  I am always disappointed  in Christian books that barely talk about God or how God influences the characters’ decisions.    Call me old fashioned, but I like fictional stories that are encouraging in the spiritual side of life.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

