Goings On . . . and No Pictures – What?? :)

The past weekend was pretty nice!  We did some running around on Saturday.  I had to mail a couple packages (I’ve never mailed so many packages in my life! Yay for ebay!) and get some things in town.  Sunday was church and I so loved being back!  January was really hard because of the weather and the headaches.  I think the dryness in our house is just wreaking havoc on my sinus passages or something.  This past weekend was nice, but I am ever so thankful for Excedrin Migraine.

Sunday afternoon was spent at the Verizon store in town.  It was decision making time!  My husband wanted one so he could have internet connection and access to other things while working.  It gives him something to do while he is working (bluetooth headsets are awesome).  We were deciding on a phone for myself, BUT right now I do not have one.  I was trying to justify having one.  I’m home most of the time, with internet access and a land line phone.  My conclusion is a track (trac?) phone for when I’m out and need to make a phone call in an emergency or just to check in every once in a while.  It just makes the most sense to me.

This year I began reading through the Bible.  It has been a blessing and a struggle all at the same time!  Mainly the struggle has been my misuse of time.  So many of my bloggy friends (is that a real word “bloggy”?) and myself have been under conviction for not spending time with our family’s as we should.  It’s so easy to get wrapped up in blogging and facebook and other online amusements (bejeweled blitz, ebay, etc. etc.) and time has a way of escaping.  Sometimes housework piles up and the kids are feeling neglected and I feel guilty.

Terribly guilty.  I’ve been trying to minimize my time on here, except for yesterday when I put some stuff on e-bay. Thinking I had saved stuff for later, only to realize I hadn’t saved it. *sigh*  Most of the afternoon/evening online. Guilt!

Guilt is not a very good feeling.  Guilt, conviction.  God has a way of prodding us to get us to where He wants us.  The choices are ours.  Do we choose to be gently prodded by God or does He have to use other measures to get us moving toward Him?  Sometimes I ignore the gentle prodding.  Shamefully, I ignore it. I Thessalonians 5:19 “Quench not the Spirit.”  Short and to the point. How often I do quench His Spirit.  

The battle rages with-in:   my flesh struggling against God’s Spirit.  Knowing what is right and Doing what is right. Always a battle.  

My children need me to be there for them.  While I am physically here for them, I’m not always truly paying attention to them.  The time is fleeting, they are growing up way too fast, and I do not redeem the time.    

Redeem the time . . .Ephesians 5:15-17:
See then that ye walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise, Redeeming the time, because the days are evil. Wherefore be ye not unwise, but understanding what the will of the Lord is.

Today, I am going to be wise, redeem the time I do have, and be in the Lord’s will for my life today.  He wants me to live in Him day by day and DO what I know is His will.

Now, I’m off to have school with my children and spend a warm day outside with them!  Praise the Lord for sunshine and warmer weather!!

2 thoughts on “Goings On . . . and No Pictures – What?? :)

  1. Lovely post, Emily. I am addicted to my phone, but it is we pay for it through our business –that's how I justify it. 😉 Oh, but if you get a Verizon phone, we can talk “mobile to mobile” for free 🙂

    You know that I've struggled with the same issues of time management. Like you, even though I'm with my daughter physically, I am not always giving her the attention she needs. Especially, during school. And guilt is not a good feeling.

    On a good note, I'm my next load of laundry, I will be using my homemade soap 🙂 So excited. Have you used yours yet?

  2. HI Emily, I am not a phone gal myself. I have a simple, no texting type phone. Just in case i need to call AAA or something while i am out.

    I also struggle with time management. The internet and blogging can consume so much time, I have to limit myself.

    Enjoy the sunshine today!

Leave a Reply

