Egg Recipe Ideas, Anyone?

We are getting roughly 6 eggs each day now.  Every once in a while we get 7 and we still have 6 more hens to start laying.  I’ve been searching the internet for recipes that use a lot of eggs and was reading them to my husband and he, unfortunately, doesn’t seem very moved by many of them.  

Was that last sentence a run-on sentence or what?

So, if you have any good egg recipes or links to some, do tell!  You can leave a comment or email me! (emilystrobel@embarqmail.com)


THANK YOU, in advance! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Egg Recipe Ideas, Anyone?

  1. sorry i haven't gotten back to you yet about this! i did get your message. 🙂 we used to hardboil a lot of our eggs (the boys love hard boiled eggs and i love egg salad sandwiches!), but fresh eggs are really hard to peel when hard boiled. so we get a dozen white eggs for hard boiling.
    with our eggs, we make custard, quiches, and egg recipes (for kenny's breakfasts when he drives into the city). kenny and i eat two eggs for breakfast and the younger two boys like scrambled eggs for mornings. eggs are REALLY good for you (don't believe any cholesterol madness regarding eggs!), so eat up, and enjoy!

  2. Thanks for the ideas! 🙂 We will definitely be eating up! I did just hard boil a dozen and while doing so recalled how hard it was to peel when I used my nephew's fresh eggs one time. Silly me! I love egg salad sandwiches, too. 🙂 I didn't think of custard. Sounds good!

    I know that eggs are good for you – I quit listening to those reports a long time ago. Coffee is also good and bad for you, same with chocolate and ___________ (whatever else they think this week). Thanks for the ideas!!

  3. I boil a dozen or so once a week…we eat them for breakfast and use them for egg salad, tuna, etc.

    You could make your own mayo, custard or meringue (sp?)….also that fab New Zealand dessert with Kiwi & Strawberries…can't think of the name right now.

  4. My new found love for eggs is a sandwich similar to Primanti Brothers. We make hoagies warmed in the oven. French Fries and a cooked egg on them. I do not do the cole slaw thing but lettuce is fine for me. The egg just adds the finishing touch to the sandwich.

    Also – my spinach ball recipe is a big hit at my house and it calls for 6 eggs!!

    Cookies – 2 eggs 🙂

    Eggs in a basket is a favorite for my kids in the mornings.

    Egg salad of course on a sandwich.
    pickled eggs my husband likes…

    You could sell them 🙂 I want to get chickens so badly but living on East Brady Street is not really ideal. lol Someday.

    Oh Egg Pizza and Strombolis. Get some of that 88 cent pizza dough from walmart (or make your own but mine always flops) put cheese, sausage, bacon on it. then scramble eggs and pour over that. Either make a pizza or a stromboli out of it. That is a favorite of mine.

  5. I boiled 10 today and amazingly they peeled ok. That was fun and they were tasty! I ate 2 and Nathan ate 1. The rest are in a bag in the fridge waiting for something – maybe egg salad tomorrow! My husband also suggested pickled beets and eggs, Linda.

    Tracy, I'm definitely going to look into making my own mayo! I love mayo!

    Linda, WOW! You have a lot of great ideas!

    Thanks ladies! 🙂

  6. You might try making an egg-based bread too. They often use a bunch of eggs per loaf and have a nice, dense quality to it. As an example, http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/a-number-one-egg-bread/Detail.aspx uses 6 yolks + 3 more full eggs. That's 9 for one recipe! =)

    Also, make bread pudding or french toast for breakfast in the mornings. If I'm making french toast, I usually use 1 or 2 eggs less than the number of slices I'm making. IE – If I'm making 6 pieces, I'll use 4 or 5 eggs with milk, vanilla, and cinnamon.

    I'm a new reader and love your blog!

    Emma
    City Roots, Country Life

  7. Hi Emma! Thanks for the link for the bread! I might try the bread pudding and I've done french toast. YUM! I love French toast! Thanks for stopping by and reading! I'm going to check out your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

