Weekly Wrap-Up

Week 11 is done (just about). We’ve had an interesting week, for sure!

Monday everyone accomplished what was on the planner.
Tuesday everyone did the same. It was our field trip day and we did our phonogram flash cards and listened to Children’s Bible Hour in the morning. They did Captain Jax Math Facts, too. (computer math “flash card type” program).
Wednesday we ditched our school plans and headed for the Pittsburgh Zoo. It was a cold and foggy morning, but by the time we got out of the primate house the sun was shining and the sky was clear and beautiful! We tried getting to the zoo several times with a friend, but the weather never cooperated. When I saw this week was to be so beautiful I figured we’d just up and go and I’m glad we did! Wednesday was a great day, no school field trips going on – slow paced walk through was just wonderful! We worked through the scavenger hunt papers. It was so cold at first that the boys were freezing as they wrote, so what I did was asked them the questions and they would figure out the answers. Then I told them they could copy the answers onto their own papers another day (that will happen today).
Thursday we did our planned school work later in the day. We up and went to the Veteran’s Day Parade in downtown Butler. What a great parade! I’m glad we went! It was nice to be out in the sunshine, even though it was chilly in the morning. 🙂
Friday – I’m glad it’s almost the weekend! It has been an exhausting week for me. A couple days of basic freedom from work is taking its toll today. The attitudes aren’t so bad at the moment, but every once in a while one comes my way.
Math: Ryan’s finishing up lesson 15 with a test today. Monday he’s taking a unit test. Nathan is working on lesson 18 in his math. He’s struggling a little with adding the columns, but doing ok. Grace is finishing lesson 15 in her math.
Bible class this week was on hold because I am out of printer ink and couldn’t make copies for everyone. I’ve used SOOOooo much ink this year! HP should give me a freebie. 🙂 We have been listening to Keys for Kids each day.
Grammar is going ok. Ryan is working on Irregular Verbs in his Easy Grammar. Not sure if he’s getting it really. Will have to work with him a little more. Nathan is working on Subject-Verb Agreement today. He learned about Predicate Adjectives yesterday. I think he has that concept down.
Spelling (SWR). Everyone did really well Monday when we dictated words! Ryan, who usually misses many, only missed 2 words when he followed my directions this time! That makes me Sooo happy! We still have a lot of work to do, but a little progress makes me happy! Nathan and Grace are doing well! Grace LOVES to spell words and the other day on our field trip she was reading of her own free will. I think I posted something about that in the previous post. Today we’re all working on the A-E-I-O-U page in the backs of their spelling books.
Science. We did an experiment on Monday. Wed. was the Zoo trip and as I mentioned earlier we’re going to complete our Scavenger hunt papers today.
We only read 3 pages Monday in God’s World News. We’ll read a few pages today, too. I guess you can count the Vet. Parade as a History lesson. We saw Veterans from World War II, Korean War and Vietnam, as well as some soldiers that are currently serving and JROTC and ROTC. Lots of students in those programs!
All in all another great week of school! I’m really enjoying school this year! It has been such a blessing to change curriculum and take a more relaxed, fun approach to learning!
2 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up

  1. Wow, you always have the best week. I love that you go on regular field trips. I really much do some searching for things in our area. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

