Ice Balls and Other Things

I saw this falling from the sky today.
See them? The tiny ice balls?
I couldn’t get a picture of it actually falling,
but this was the next best thing.

Plus I love macro shots!

This one is my favorite.
Some weeks are harder than others and this one has been a tough one for me. A tough week spiritually and emotionally. I have a lot of things rolling around in my head right now, and trying to make sense of them is the hard part.
God has a way of bringing about situations that make me really reflect on my own walk with Him. A lot of times I can talk about spiritual things and even talk a good talk. It’s not the talk though, it is the WALK with my Savior. It’s something that I’ve been shamefully struggling with for a little while now.
While having daily devotions – I read a daily devotional each day from In Touch ministries and also the daily “My Utmost for His Highest” and listen to Children’s Bible Hour’s “Keys for Kids” online with the kids each day – I struggle with right thoughts and right reactions to situations. I struggle with really “getting” something from His Word.
Guilt ridden.
That describes me.
Thoughts of all the ways I fail my husband and children each day.
Thoughts of how I fail the Lord each day.
It’s silly and I know it.
We all fail, every last one of us.
I’m a sinful creature by nature.
I was born into sin. My life is full of sin.
Sin I choose or don’t choose to do.
I often choose to sin.
The flesh likes to creep in and Satan likes to discourage me.
I keep this in mind, but the feelings of being a failure still come.
After receiving Jesus as my Savior, I KNOW that I am a child of God.
He loves me unconditionally and has forgiven me completely.
My mind and my heart knows these things.
God’s Word is the cure.
It’s something I really need to get into.
Not just to do my daily “devotional duty” but to really get my thoughts focused on Him.
Have His Word cleanse my mind and give comfort to my soul.
*This is probably a rambling mess. I can’t seem to think clearly these days. My brain feels like it’s stuffed full of cotton and I can’t string thoughts together very well, but I tried.
Onto more light hearted stuff. My 3 boys are going out small game hunting tomorrow. Ryan is so very excited! Nathan is a little excited, but not as much as Ryan. Nathan might not even like it, but I’m just glad that he is going. Sometimes he hates to do new things. He may even hate hunting tomorrow, but at least he’s going to try!
Grace and I are going to have a girl’s day. She wants to go spend money, that’s what she told me! I had to tell Eric her plans just because I thought it was funny that a 6 year old girl has such desires already!
Dinner is in the crockpot. We’re having Crockpot Salsa Chicken this evening. Ryan picked this one. The only thing I didn’t put in was the corn and I used tenderloins instead of chicken thighs. It smells wonderful!
My evening will consist of putting away some clothes, make rice for the chicken stuff, and plan school for next week. I’ll eventually relax somewhere in there. 🙂
Today has been such a cold and windy day that I decided to leave the chickens in their mansion/coop. I’ll feed and water them in a bit. I just couldn’t bear to let them out. They probably wouldn’t mind it. I had to help Biscuit up to the roost last night. Poor thing can’t make it, but all the others can. He looked so lonely and I didn’t want him to freeze all by himself. Eric still wants to lower it, just hasn’t had the time.
Have a great weekend and thanks for reading my ramblings!
One thought on “Ice Balls and Other Things

Leave a Reply

