Questions, lots of them!

My children have been keeping me very busy with questions. Lots of questions! They have been learning and reviewing Bible stories through their schooling, through devotions and through Bible stories in the evening (if it’s not too late at bed time).

Ryan, my middle child, especially loves to ask the questions. “Well, why did Eve have to sin?” “Why didn’t Adam stop her?” Why, why, why?? “What if they didn’t sin?” “Didn’t the people around Noah know they were sinners?” The story of Noah is fascinating to all 3 of my kids. It’s hard to wrap my head around the story if I think about it. God was so mad at the sin in the world that He destroyed it by a Flood.
I can’t even really remember what ALL the question were. I just know I didn’t and don’t have answers for all of them. They are overwhelming at times. I think I’m going to make a list of the next batch of questions from him (and the others) and post them.
My explanation as to why Eve chose to sin is that God gave us a free will and she chose to sin. The same thing with Adam. Because they chose to sin, we are born sinners, all of us. That is why God sent Jesus to die on the cross. He paid the price for our sins. What a price He paid!
Children are a such blessing! They make you think about the Bible, God’s Word, His plan.
These questions make me think of another situation I am dealing with. It’s about a friend who is living in serious sin and, yet, justifies it. We can justify any sin, especially if it’s something we WANT to hang on to. God’s Word is very clear on sin. All have sinned, we are all sinners. There’s none that doeth good.
This entire conversation we’re having has been a plus for me. It makes me really take a good look at the sin I allow in my life (and there’s A LOT there). It’s those sins we don’t think will hurt others. Well, they may not hurt others, BUT they are wretched and ugly to a Holy and Pure God. They hurt Him. They nailed Him to a cross.
3 thoughts on “Questions, lots of them!

  1. Emily, don't you just love all those questions? Our kids can keep us on our toes, can't they! Just be thankful that they are asking them. And be honest with them; tell them that there are things that you don't know either. I believe they need to see that we are learning just as they are. My firm belief is that God gave me kids to show me how wretched I am!!! And believe me, they see our sins so clearly sometimes that it can be embarrassing!! I remind my kids that I am in need of a Savior every day just as they are!

    Blessings to you! Would love to see some of those questions posted. I know my kids can give us some doozies!!!

  2. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog!

    I'm convinced that God purposely makes our kids inquisitive to make us more aware of our faith. It can be quite, uh, uncomfortable at times. I love when my kids ask questions about Him. It means they're paying attention.

    PS I'm following you now!

  3. Shellie, I do LOVE the questions and the reflection they cause and that I have to be honest with my children. They need to know the truth as much as my limited knowledge allows I will answer. I will most definitely keep a notebook handy the next time the are having a discussion!

    Jamie, thanks for stopping by and following! It's definitely wonderful that our children are listening and are so curious, especially about God! And I hear you on the uncomfortable times the questions can bring sometimes, but they truly are a blessing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

