Thursday

As you’ve noticed, I haven’t been blogging too much lately. Things have been going along pretty good here at home for the most part. Nothing exciting or thrilling really. It has been snowing some today. I know snow is beautiful, but is it ok to be sick of it now? 🙂 I am looking forward to warm sunshine and plowing the garden and planting some seeds! I love the Spring and sunshine and warmth! It has been a long, cold winter.

School is moving along. We’ll be done with school in 11 weeks (hopefully)! The boys are doing pretty good in their work, though there are their struggle spots. I need to work with Ryan more on his multiplication tables and Nathan with his English rules. So many rules and tables!! There are days lately that I am just tired of school. I know they are as well! Grace is doing pretty good with her stuff! I think she actually might be on the verge of bored with it since it’s quite easy for her.

Yesterday I took the kiddos to the library. It’s the first time in their memory of ever going there. I did take them when they were pretty little, but haven’t been back since. They enjoyed it and we ended up getting 8 books. Why I haven’t taken them until now? Part laziness, part “I hate Butler.” It wasn’t so bad though! We did have to drive around the library once to find a spot to park. I didn’t want to pay the parking meter for time at the library. Anyway, it was a nice time and we’re going to try going at least twice a month.

Last Saturday was the Awana Grand Prix. The kids had a great time and were so proud their cousin, Steven, got first place for his car’s design! It was a really nice afternoon!

It has been a rough week for me. I did wake up Saturday with a slight lower back ache. It wasn’t anything bad though, so I didn’t really worry about it. Well, Sunday morning I woke up and had a really hard time moving. I don’t know what is up with my back. It was also awful on Monday, almost worse than Sunday. I was fine if I laid down flat on my back or stood up. Sitting for too long a time had been a challenge. Thankfully by Tuesday it started to feel better and I actually got some cleaning done – it’s amazing how dirty a place can get! Yesterday it wasn’t so bad either. Today it’s back to being more sore, but not as bad as Sunday or Monday. I’m debating on a visit to the chiropractor.

Grace had a fever Sunday, but I think it’s from her 6 year molars. She got better pretty quick, thankfully! No one else got sick. Woo Hoo!

So I’ve been a bit discouraged this week. I was on a good exercise schedule and getting somewhere and here I am, back to sitting/laying around trying to rest my back. Seems like a silly thing to be discouraged about, but I can’t help it I guess.

One thing I did accomplish today was finishing up chapter 2 of I Peter – finally! I am starting lesson 14 tomorrow. I’ve been trying to do one or 2 a week. Some weeks it seems one lesson is all I can get done. “Living a Lovely Life” is the title of lesson 14 and it’s chapter 3:1-7. I am excited to get into it!

I do have a funny story. Friday night I allowed Nathan to stay awake in bed and play his nintendo Dsi. Well, I went in at almost 12:30 that night and he was still awake playing with it! So anyway, I told him it was time to turn it off and go to sleep. He got up to use the potty and than all the sudden Ryan gets up. He says “I want to . . . I want to . .. ” I said “You want to what?” He said “I want to kill the bucket.” (he had a bucket by his bed because his belly hadn’t felt very good that night – too many doritos). I said to him, ‘What do you want to kill it with?” He said, “I want to kill it with a gun.” LOL I was like, OK. LOL Anyway, he went potty also, washed his hands and went back to bed. He didn’t remember any of it the next morning, which cracks me up even more! He is my sleep walker and sleep talker. He is sometimes quite amusing and sometimes scary. I always hope I am awake when he starts doing that. So far so good. I am thankful I am not a heavy sleeper! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Thursday

  1. It's good to hear from you, again. Sometimes days go by without any blogging here, too. Life happens. These long, cold days are getting to be old to me, too. Spring can't come too soon!!

    How's the thyroid? Hopefully okay.

    Keep pursuing Him, Sister!

  2. Hi Shellie!! How are YOU feeling these days? 🙂 I have a “lesion of undetermined signifigance” (the official title). I have to go back to UPMC at the end of March (30th) for another round of ultrasound, biopsy and doctor visit. The big title just means they think the cells they did have could possibly be malignent, but since there wasn't enough to really tell I have to have another biopsy. I'm in this freakishly small category. So until I really know, I've placed it in God's hands and am not worrying (I do have my moments though). Thanks for asking! 🙂

Leave a Reply

