Field Trip, etc

Today we went on a field trip to Jennings and the kids really had a good time! At first we were trying to decide whether to go or not, but I decided that since we’d be outside that it would be ok. They had a great time! The boys got to go find bugs on their hike and I didn’t get pictures of them since I was with Grace on her bird hike. The bird hike was really good and Grace had a fun time!
This is the kindergarten – 2nd grade groups.

Feeling a down feather from a turkey.

She’s touching an owl’s foot here.

Here they are pretending to hatch from an egg. 🙂

Using binoculars to find birds. I thought it was cute to see the kids find the birds!

The reason we almost didn’t go was because Nathan woke up around 4:30 this morning with a low grade fever (only 99.4). The kids still really wanted to go on the field trip, so we went anyway. We were outside most of the time, so that was a plus. The boys really did enjoy their bug hike and I’m so glad we went even with Nathan not feeling well. He’s fevered right now. It was 101.2 last time I checked. I keep making him take drinks and give him an ibuprofen and right now he’s taking a nap.

I had plans to do a little bit of schoolwork when we got home, but with Nathan not feeling well, I decided not to push it today. Ryan and Grace will do school tomorrow, maybe Nathan if he’s doing ok. We shall see.

Our weekend was really nice. Friday night I got a new microwave oven, as mine has been out of service since June, I think. I LOVE it. Microwaves have come a long way since we got married. Also on Friday an element in my oven burned out, so Saturday Eric got a new element and fixed it while I was out grocery shopping.

Grocery shopping was insane Saturday. EVERYONE was out, so it seemed. Every store was very busy and I was so glad to get home and put everything away and pleased that my oven was fixed!

Sunday was church and I really love church! Love singing and learning lessons from God’s Word! The Christian fellowship is a blessing as well!

Yesterday was definitely a Monday as far as school goes. Seemed to take the kids forever to get their schoolwork done. I did manage to clean out under my bed and the bed stand. Amazing that there was about a garbage bag full of garbage from those 2 places. I am on a roll to declutter/dejunk the house. We still have our bedroom closet and cedar chest to clean out. Then there are the hallway and entryway closets that need a good cleaning as well. I’m just going about it slowly. Maybe one or 2 things a week. I was inspired by my husband (who cleaned out the boy’s bedroom) to just start throwing stuff away that isn’t being used or doesn’t have value.

Well, that’s about it for now. Later I’m going to post some pictures of the kids that I took last Wednesday. I try to take yearly pictures of them. Kind of like “school” pictures. 🙂 They turned out ok, but not as good as I really hoped. Anyway, I am closing now. I am rambling at the fingertips today.

3 thoughts on “Field Trip, etc

  1. That looks like such a fun field trip… I especially loved the shot of the kids “hatching”;)

    And, my gracious me, I soo know what you mean about the crazy Saturday grocery shopping…. how spoiled I am to be able to do mine on weekday mornings when the store is practically deserted;)

Leave a Reply

