Tasty Tuesday

I don’t have any pictures of what we had for dinner last night, but it was sooo good! I had some leftover steak (which I don’t cook well done) from Sunday and didn’t want to waste it. I never know what to make with leftover steaks!

Last night I decided to make some Beef Stroganoff for dinner. I’m sure others have tried this, but it was a first for me and it turned out really well! I’ve made beef stroganoff with ground beef and some type of white sauce, but this was far better than that!

Here’s the recipe:
1 1/2 pounds beef tenderloin or boneless top loin steak, about 1/2 inch thick.
2 Tablespoons margarine or butter
1 1/2 cups beef broth
2 tablespoons ketchup
1 teaspoon salt (which I’m cutting in half next time)
1 small clove garlic, finely chopped
8 ounces mushrooms, sliced (which I didn’t use)
1 medium onion, chopped, about 1/2 cup (I didn’t use this either)
3 tablespoons all purpose flour
1 cup sour cream or plain yogurt (plain yogurt seems wrong somehow)

Cut beef tenderloin across grain into strips, each about 1 1/2 x 1/2 inch. (For ease in cutting, partially freeze beef). Cook beef in margarine in 10 inch skillet over low heat, stirring occasionally, until brown. Reserve 1/3 cup of the broth. Stir remaining broth, the ketchup, salt and garlic into skillet. Heat to boiling; reduce heat. Cover and simmer about 10 minutes or until beef is tender.

Stir in mushrooms and onion. Cover and simmer about 5 minutes or until onion is tender. Shake reserved broth and flour in tightly covered container; gradually stir into beef mixture. Heat to boiling stirring, stirring constantly. Boil and stir 1 minute; reduce heat. Stir in sour cream; heat until hot. Serve over hot cooked noodles or rice if desired. 6 servings; 405 calories per serving. (This recipe came from my Betty Crocker 40th Anniversary Edition Cookbook).

It was very good! Mostly everyone ate it (Grace and Nathan weren’t impressed). The only thing was that it was very salty and I’m going to reduce the salt the next time I make this and probably leave out the ketchup. We had it over egg noodles!

Leave a Reply

