A new week!

Here we are, Monday! This is going to be a short week of school for the boys. Well, short by one day. πŸ™‚ They have much work to do this short week, but they’ll be fine. Just getting them going after the weekend is the hard part. They have done well in their math since we really concentrated on it the week before last. That is so exciting!

Now we have to work on writing. Ryan is just sloppy, but he can put sentences together ok for the most part. Nathan needs a lot of work in both areas. He CAN be neat, but he isn’t and doesn’t seem to want to listen lately either. He does struggle with putting sentences together that make sense though. This is also becoming a struggle for me to. I’m at a loss of what to do for him in this. He has pictures in his Literature & Creative Writing and has to write sentences from them and it is really difficult for him. Guess he’ll need some one on one time for this.

I got his CAT test last Friday. We will do these tests some time this month. My nephew will need one too, so my sister in law and I will trade kids and do the tests. This is a whole new experience for me. Nathan will get evaluated in June some time. Thankfully my sister in law has been doing this a while and knows what I need to have and what needs to get done for that. I’m a little nervous, but I think we’ll be ok.

Last week’s Awana went well. It was quite busy since it was talent night. There are quite a few talented girls in the class! I didn’t know so many of them played musical instruments! How fun!

After prayer and talking things over with Eric I will be taking on a Sunday school class this June. I figured we’d see how it goes. If it’s too much, I will give it up. I don’t want to be so overwhelmed by things that I don’t enjoy serving God.

The bulletin board will be a family project. I thought as homeschoolers it would be a great opportunity for them to have a Christian service project! I am quite excited about this. I’ll need to shop around for ideas and I also love the site http://www.boardsgalore.com/ There are a lot of great ideas on there as well! I need to get good measurements of the bulletin board so I can do some of the designing stuff at home with the kid’s help. πŸ™‚ This will be so much fun!

This coming weekend will be sooo busy! I have to finish memorizing my lines for the play we’re doing at Sunrise service. I’m excited and nervous all at the same time! Saturday we’ll rehearse the play, then go to the Awana Easter egg hunt. Friday we are planning to go to Roger’s in Ohio – a HUGE flea market. We went with Eric’s family last year and are doing it again this year.

Saturday we went to the Pittsburgh Mills (a mall). It was ok there. A lot of places have closed up though. Kind of a ghost mall, but not quite as bad as the Clearview Mall in Butler.

Church was awesome yesterday! There were hymnologies about different hymns we sing each Easter. The stories behind the author’s of the hymns are so amazing! It’s neat to see how God worked in their lives and how these hymns came to be. Another thing we learned about was the meanings behind different things during the Easter holiday. The holy week, lent, Good Friday – all that stuff. It was very interesting! I’ll write more on this tomorrow if I get the chance.

My list of thankfulness for today: 1. thankful for a good church where there are opportunities to serve Him and to hear the Word of God! 2. thankful for my huband and children! 3. thankful for a little extra money – I love my new vacuum! πŸ™‚

II Chronicles 20:15b Be not afraid nor dismayed by reason of this great multitude; for the battle is not your’s, but God’s. This was an excellent verse I read in my devotions this morning and had to share it!

2 thoughts on “A new week!

Leave a Reply

