Opportunities and other stuff

There are so many things that can be done no matter where you are in life. The question is, how much do I take on? At least that is the question I have right now. šŸ™‚ I’m praying about a few different ministries that have been presented to me and if they are what God wants me to do. I know I’d like to do them, but I need to keep my life and my priorities in balance.

One is taking on a Sunday School class part of the year, it’s for ages 4-5, I do believe. It would be a fun and interesting class I think. That age group is fun because they are curious and are outspoken at times. You never know what they will say.

Another opportunity is a bulletin board ministry! This one is very exciting to me! It’s like a gigantic scrapbook page and there are so many things you can do with it. I think it would be fun to have the children involved in preparing and maybe even hanging up stuff with me. I’m praying about these and will talk to Eric about them some more just to see what he thinks. I’ve learned that my spouse’s answers are a good gauge to know what God wants me to do. šŸ™‚ Thank God for husbands!!

Tonight marks the first of 5 nights of Awana that are left. This is an area that I’m still kind of struggling with really. I LOVE to do it, but feel so overwhelmed by it. The class is huge, but a lot of fun at the same time.


Yesterday the kids and I went out for lunch with my 2 aunts and cousin Shannon. It was such a nice time! We all had a nice time out of the house for a bit! We don’t really go many places since the durango is such a gas hog, but it is nice to escape the countryside for a while and have a great afternoon out! My aunts and cousin are absolutely sweet! I just love them to pieces! Grace and my Aunt Grace got along really well. Grace kept talking to her and finally had to tell her a secret that finally ended up with her sitting in my aunt’s lap. Both Grace’s are named for my Grandma Miller.

The boys had a good time talking as well, but I think they got bored after a while. I know Nathan did get bored

. Ryan seems to enjoy being around people more than his brother. Nathan is a lot like Eric in many ways and living as a hermit is one of them. šŸ™‚ Eric and I are totally opposite that way. I am quite the people person and he is not. It’s amazing how God brings opposites together.

The boys are doing well this week with school. They had last week off from their actual schoolwork. They were working on their adding, subtracting and multiplying (Nathan), practicing their writing/cursive, and reading (lots of reading). Eric and I thought a week of concentrating on those areas would be good for them and I think it has been!

Today I read from Joshua for my devotional time and I just want to write this verse in closing: Joshua 1:8 This book of the law shall not depart out of thy mouth; but thou shalt meditate therein day and night, that thou mayest observe to do according to all that is written therein: for then thou shalt make thy way prosperous, and then thou shalt have good success.

2 thoughts on “Opportunities and other stuff

  1. This is so hard! I love ministry. I was on staff at my church before I had the baby. But, taking a step back and refocusing priorities and discerning what, where, and how is hard. Where do I draw that line. I want to show the kids service , but I don’t want to jump head first and deep into ministry that it affects them. That happened before. They started to hate church because we were always there and not for THEM. I had to make a change and am very careful to NOT go back there. I am taking on ministries now … slowly!

Leave a Reply

