Grace’s birthday & thoughts about yesterday

Today my baby girl is 5 years old. This is both exciting and sad to me. Exciting because she’s growing up and sad because she is growing up! The time goes so quickly! Grace arrived at 9:37 am after a rather brief labor (maybe 3 hours?) and delivery. She has been such a blessing to our family! Each child is a blessing. They are each so unique and precious. I thank God for them each day and pray for them to follow God all their lives. Psalm 127:3, “Lo, children are a heritage of the Lord. . ” I’ll post some birthday party pictures tomorrow. The cupcakes are baked and we’re waiting for them to cool before putting the frosting on them. That will be fun too!

Yesterday’s Our Daily Bread was such a good one! It was called “Finding Our Calling” and it has been something I’ve been thinking about ever since. It’s something so many of us seem to get worked up about, “What does God want me to do with my life?” I always got so confused and so worried I wasn’t doing God’s will when I was growing up. Teen and early 20’s were the hardest for me. So many mixed messages about it was enough to make me ask so many questions “Am I doing what God wants?” Anyway, yesterday’s ODB seems to have things make more sense and it’s something I’ve learned in the more recent years of my life.

David McCasland wrote, “While we often think in terms of occupation and location, perhaps a more important issue is one of character – the being that undergirds doing.I think that is such a good statement. Where am I spiritually? Am I what doing/being what God wants right now, where I am in my life spiritually? How close to God am I? Are my desires from God? God puts opportunities in front of us, it’s our choice to do them or not. McCasland also says, “When we are the right people before God, we can do whatever task He sends, wherever He puts us. In so doing, we discover and affirm His calling for us.” I am where God wants me now in life. His will for me is to love and serve Him, my husband, my children and those He brings into my life and I am so thankful to Him for the many opportunities He gives me. Ephesians 4:1 “I, therefore, the prisoner of the Lord, beseech you to walk worthy of the calling with which you were called.”

Oswald Chambers said: “Consecration is not the giving over of the calling in life to God, but the separation from all other callings and the giving over of ourselves to God, letting His providence place us where He will-in business, or law, or science; in workshop, in politics, or in drudgery. We are to be there working according to the laws and principles of the Kingdom of God.”
Leave a Reply

